Alumni Class Notes


  • Arlene Blaha, B.S.N., M.P.H. '74, has retired from her post as village clerk of Riverside, Illinois. Previously she was director of the Autism Society of Illinois and of DuPage County's Community Nursing Service and taught nursing at the University of Wisconsin–Eau Claire, U-M, and the University of South Carolina.
  • For his more than 40 years of "significant and lasting contributions" to the fields of public and environmental health, Harry E. Grenawitzke, RS, M.P.H. '74, received the 2012 distinguished Walter F. Snyder Environmental Health Award, given during the National Environmental Health Association's annual conference in San Diego.
  • Roscoe Moore, D.V.M., Ph.D., M.P.H. '70, has been appointed to the scientific advisory board of Cannabis Science Inc. A senior fellow at the Potomic Institute, Moore is CEO and vice chair of the Global Flu Consortium.
  • The American Lung Association has named Harry Perlstadt, Ph.D., M.P.H. '79, to its national board of directors. Perlstadt, a medical sociologist and professor emeritus at Michigan State University, specializes in medical sociology, health organizations and delivery systems, and evaluation research.
  • Pamela Zarkowski, M.P.H. '78, is provost and vice president for academic affairs at the University of Detroit Mercy.


  • Andrea Briefs-Ferris, R.N., M.H.S.A. '85, the breast cancer navigator for St. Joseph Mercy Hospital in Pontiac, Michigan, has received Breast Patient Navigator Certification from the National Consortium of Breast Centers.
  • John DeNardo, M.P.H. '84, has retired from his post as CEO of University of Illinois Hospital, in Chicago, to become director of the health care administration master's degree program at the University of Illinois at Chicago School of Public Health. "You never want to play a season too long," DeNardo said in an interview.
  • Valerie Powell-Stafford, M.H.S.A. '89, chief operating officer for Doctors Hospital of Sarasota, Florida, has been appointed to the Council of Regents, the legislative body of the American College of Healthcare Executives.


  • Jenna Bacolor, M.P.H./M.S.W. '95, has left the Washtenaw County (MI) Department of Public Health to become director of the Ann Arbor Community Education and Recreation department.
  • As senior vice president of government programs, Lisa Brubaker, M.H.S.A. '96, oversees Medicare, Medicaid, and other government business for Regence, a health plan in the Northwest/Intermountain region.
  • Denise Charron-Prochonik, Ph.D. '91, is the new chair of the Department of Health Promotion and Development at the University of Pittsburgh School of Nursing.
  • Excellus BlueCross BlueShield has announced the promotion of Lynne Scalzo, M.P.H. '90, of Chili, New York, to the position of vice president of business strategy and health care reform.
  • Jim Collins, M.P.H. '90, director of the Communicable Disease Division of the Michigan Department of Community Health, represents the Council of State and Territorial Epidemiologists on the governance boards of the National Health Security Preparedness Index project and the National Biosense 2.0 Initiative.
  • As an associate in the Tax Group of the New England–based McLane Law Firm, Catherine Laughlin Hines, J.D., M.H.S.A. '96, serves clients in a range of transactions related to tax and health care law.
  • A professor of medicine at the University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston Medical School, Maureen Mayes, M.D., M.P.H. '94, has joined the medical advisory board of the Raynaud's Association, a national nonprofit that provides support and education to sufferers of Raynaud's phenomenon, an exaggerated sensitivity to cold temperatures.
  • A family nurse practitioner and active member of the Orange County Florida League of Women Voters, Nancy Rudner Lugo, DrPH '93, is involved in local and state league efforts to raise awareness of immigration, health care reform, and redistricting issues.
  • Michelle Segar, M.P.H. '97, was lead author of a study in the June 2012 issue of Journal of Obesity showing that overweight men and women respond differently to advertisements about the benefits from exercise. SPH Assistant Professor Brian Zikmund-Fisher collaborated on the study. Segar's work was featured in August by New York Times health columnist Jane Brody.
  • The American Optometric Association has named Melvin Shipp, Dr.P.H. '96, dean of the Ohio State University College of Optometry, the 2012 Optometrist of the Year. Shipp is also the current president of the American Public Health Association—the first optometrist to serve in that position.


  • In an interview with BYTE Newsletter last March, Paul Browne, M.H.S.A. '08, senior vice president and CIO of Trinity Health, said the next "big thing" for his company is "data interpretation [captured in electronic health records] that changes the way we deliver care and, in so doing, patient outcomes."
  • As a project manager with the Washington, D.C.–based Public Health Foundation, Julia Gray, M.P.H. '06, helps provide resources and tools to public health departments and system partners with the aim of improving community health outcomes. The foundation recently selected the Washtenaw County (Michigan) Public Health Department as one of two recipients of a 2012 Future of Public Health Award.
  • Jessica Holmes, M.D., M.P.H. '04, has completed a three-year residency at Saint Joseph Hospital in Chicago and is working at a family health care center on the city's South Side.
  • As chief of the Division of Pediatric Rehabilitation Medicine at Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh, Amy Houtrow, M.D., M.P.H. '04, cares for children with disabling conditions such as spina bifida, cerebral palsy, rheumatologic disorders, brain and spinal cord injuries.
  • Darrell Hudson, M.P.H. '05, Ph.D. '09, is an assistant professor in the Master of Public Health degree program at Washington University in St. Louis. As a participant in the Kellogg Health Scholars Program, he recently completed a post-doctoral research fellowship in social epidemiology at the University of California–San Francisco/Berkeley.
  • Michigan Governor Rick Snyder has appointed Laura Hughes, M.P.H. '04, to the state's Commission on Community Action and Economic Opportunity. Hughes is executive director of the Ruth Ellis Center, which serves the physical and mental health needs of Detroit's lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and questioning youth.
  • Kristie Sullivan, M.P.H. '03, is a scientific and policy adviser with the Physicians Committee for Responsible Medicine, a nationwide organization of physicians and laypersons that promotes preventive medicine and addresses controversies in modern medicine, including ethical issues in research.
  • Elizabeth Wiley, J.D., M.D., M.P.H. '07, graduated from the George Washington University School of Medicine in May and is national president of the American Medical Student Association.


  • An assistant professor in the Neuromuscular Division of the U-M Department of Neurology, Brian Callaghan, M.D., M.S. '11, specializes in peripheral neuropathy and amyotrophic lateral sclerosis.
  • As part of her work for the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Tina Sang, M.S.W./M.P.H. '10, is completing a two-year assignment with the Refugee Health Technical Assistance Center in the Massachusetts Department of Public Health.