Alumni Class Notes


  • In recognition of his contributions to public health during the past seven decades, the Oral Health Section of the American Public Health Association has awarded Jay W. Friedman, DDS, MPH '62, the 2012 John W. Knutson Distinguished Service Award in Dental Public Health.
  • Last fall, the Institute of Medicine awarded SPH professor and alumnus Gail Warden, MHA '62, the Adam Yarmolinsky Medal for outstanding service to the IOM. Warden has been a key figure in the IOM for more than 25 years, serving as a member of the IOM Council, as a reviewer of multiple reports, and as chair of several committees.


  • America Bracho, MPH '88, is the executive director of Latino Health Access, a center for health promotion and disease prevention in Santa Ana, California. The center was created under Bracho's leadership to assist with the health needs of Latinos in Orange County.
  • Patrick T. Dowling, MD, MPH '86, is professor and chair of the Department of Family Medicine and the Kaiser Endowed Chair of Community Medicine at the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA. His key research, clinical, and teaching interests are prevention and lifestyle conditions that contribute to type 2 diabetes, high blood pressure, and elevated cholesterol levels.
  • The American Heart Association has awarded its 2012 Population Research Prize to Aaron Folsom, MD, MPH '80, professor of epidemiology and community health at the University of Minnesota School of Public Health. Folsom has contributed to more than 750 scientific publications on risk factors for heart attack, stroke, venous thrombosis, and cancer.


  • Henry Ford Wyandotte (MI) Hospital has named Denise Brooks-Williams, MHSA '91, its new president and chief executive officer. Brooks-Williams is a graduate of the U-M SPH Summer Enrichment Program and a member of the Department of Health Management and Policy Alumni Board.
  • As associate executive director of the National Association of City & County Health Officials, David Dyjack, DrPH '96, oversees the following programs: environmental health, preparedness, infrastructure, systems, chronic disease, infectious disease, and maternal and child health/injury prevention.
  • The readers of DBusiness included nutrition expert Stacy Goldberg, MPH '99, RN, BSN, in the magazine's 2012 "30 in Their Thirties" list of regional professionals who are advancing their companies, industries, and communities. Goldberg is the founder and CEO of Savorfull, a Detroit-based company.
  • Charles Holmes, MD, MPH '94, recently left his position in Washington as Chief Medical Officer for the President's Emergency Plan for AIDS Relief (PEPFAR) and Deputy U.S. Global AIDS Coordinator to become the new director of the Centre for Infectious Disease Research in Zambia. "I wanted to be part of an organization that was involved in improving health every day and doing cutting-edge research to improve programs," Holmes says.
  • Jennifer Kolker, MPH '92, is the new associate dean for public health practice at Drexel University School of Public Health. An associate professor in the school's Department of Health Management and Policy, Kolker also directs, in collaboration with the Graduate School of Public Health at the University of Pittsburgh, the Pennsylvania Public Health Training Center.
  • Alisa Koval, MHSA '98, provides monthly asbestos-related health screenings and chronic asbestos disease management for patients at the Center for Asbestos-Related Disease in Libby, Montana. She also participates in the Libby Epidemiological Research Program.
  • Clif McClellan, MS '97, is vice president of NSF International's Global Water Division. Previously he was the company's director of toxicology.
  • Scott Nordlund, MHSA '90, is the new executive vice president for enterprise strategy and innovation development at Trinity Health, based in Livonia, Michigan. Previously he was senior vice president for strategic growth, network, and new venture development at Dignity Health.
  • A professor of clinical practice in the U-M School of Kinesiology, Michael P. O'Donnell, PhD '94, directs the U-M Health Management Research Center, which helps employers measure the health risks of employees and analyze the relationship between health risks, medical costs, and productivity. O'Donnell is also editor-in-chief of the American Journal of Health Promotion, which he launched in 1986.


  • Philip Mataverde, DO, MPH '01, a neurologist at Lake Regional Neurology in Osage Beach, Missouri, has been board-certified in neurology by the American Osteopathic Association.
  • During a two-year global pediatric fellowship in health service delivery through Harvard University, Boston Children's Hospital, and Partners in Health, Leana May, DO, MPH '08, is working as both a hospitalist in Boston Children's Hospital and a pediatrician in Rwanda, and is also furthering Partners in Health research initiatives.
  • Jamaican-born Yanique Redwood, MPH '00, is the new president and CEO of the Consumer Health Foundation, which seeks to achieve health justice in the Washington, D.C., region through activities that advance the health and well-being of historically underserved communities. Previously Redwood was senior associate for health and mental health at the Annie E. Casey Foundation.
  • Shannon N. Zenk, RN, PhD '04, has received the 2012 School of Nursing Distinguished Alumna Award from Illinois Wesleyan University. Zenk, an associate professor at the University of Illinois, Chicago, studies obesity and the environmental and socioeconomic factors that contribute to obesity.

In Memoriam

1920s & 1930s

  • Syed F. Husain-Khan, MSPH '28; DPH 1933 October 24, 2012


  • Walter G. Bigler, MPH '43 October 24, 2012


  • Robert K. Anderson, MPH '50 October 18, 2012
  • B.G. Garrison, MPH '52 January 3, 2013
  • James D. Sorley, MPH '56 November 27, 2012
  • Gloria R. Smith, MPH '59 January 14, 2013


  • Chin-Un (Kimma) Chang, MHA '65 November 12, 2012
  • Vito M. Logrillo, MPH '66 December 14, 2012


  • JoAnn H. Yatabe-Kuntz, MPH '70 March 21, 2012
  • Shirley A. Keating, MPH '71 January 1, 2013
  • Patricia H. Parkerton, MPH '72; PhD '00 October 26, 2012
  • Daryl F. Patterson, MS '72 September 17, 2012
  • Leon A. Shepard, MPH '74 June 23, 2012
  • Deborah L. Ebers, MHSA '76 September 3, 2012
  • John H. Nichols, MPH '79 November 11, 2012


  • Nina Poppelsdorf, MPH '82 November 22, 2012