Tom Bruce Award
E. Hill De Loney Award

Tom Bruce Award

[The] whole idea of public health being driven by all the experts was in fact the opposite of what should be done. Bring in the people who had the problem and make them part of the solution.
– Dr. Tom Bruce

 The Tom Bruce Award was established in 2006 by the Community-Based Public Health (CBPH) Caucus of the American Public Health Association (APHA). The award celebrates the work and the legacy of Dr. Bruce to CBPH.

tom bruce

Thomas Allen Bruce, M.D., is a physician, educator, and philanthropist who lives in Little Rock, Arkansas. His professional career extends from Wayne State University in Detroit as a professor of medicine to the University of Arkansas as head of Cardiology, inaugural dean of the College of Medicine and the Clinton School of Public Policy.

From 1985 to 1997 he served as a program director at the W.K. Kellogg Foundation, planning new initiatives, reviewing proposals, and monitoring projects in health, leadership, and rural development. He provided direction for the national Community-Based Public Health Initiative beginning in 1990. Many in the CBPH Movement have called Dr. Bruce the “Father of CBPH.”

Dr. Bruce has received numerous tributes,including the Governor’s Certificate of Merit for Outstanding Citizenship (Arkansas) and Special Appreciation (Kaohsiung Medical College, Republic of China). In 1995, he was awarded an Honorary Doctor of Science degree by the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences.

Since retirement in 1997, he has helped the Heifer Project International expand their programming; assisted the Arkansas Community Foundation in expanding philanthropy throughout the state by developing a set of new local community foundations; coordinated the building of a new botanical garden/arboretum; and assisted two community development corporations in expanding their human services.

In 2001 he left retirement to assume the position as Dean pro tem of a new College of Public Health at the University of Arkansas. In 2004, Dr. Bruce became a Professor and the Associate Dean of the University of Arkansas Clinton School of Public Service. Since retiring from the Associate Dean position in December 2007, he has been selected to serve on the Governor's Roundtable on Health Care.

The Tom Bruce Award is presented annually to an individual who exemplifies leadership in CBPH. The award recognizes an individual who has made a significant contribution to the CBPH Caucus and the CBPH Movement.

Past winners

– Alex Lightfoot, Research Assistant Professor, Gillings School of Public Health, Director, Community Engagement, Partnerships and Technical Assistance Core Center for Health Promotion and Disease Prevention, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

– Loretta Jones, Founder/CEO, Healthy African American Families, & Pluscedia Williams, Community Faculty, Charles Drew University of Medicine & Science, on behalf of the Community and UCLA/Rand Research Team

– Derek Griffith, Associate Professor, Center for Medicine, Health, and Society, Vanderbilt University

– Janine Jurkowski, Associate Professor, University of Albany School of Public Health

– Lee Bone, Associate Professor, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
– Janice Bowie, Associate Professor, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

– Suzanne Cashman, Professor, University of Massachusetts Medical School

– Bonnie Duran, Professor, University of Washington School of Community Medicine
– Nina Wallenstein, Professor, University of New Mexico

– Geni Eng, Professor, University of North Carolina, Gillings School of Global Public Health
– Barbara Israel, Professor, University of Michigan School of Public Health
– Meredith Minkler, Associate Professor, University of California–Berkeley School of Public Health

– Sarena Seifer, Executive Director, Community–Campus Partnerships for Health

– Toby Citrin, Director, Kellogg Health Scholars Program–Community Track, University of Michigan School of Public Health

E. Hill De Loney Award

In order to create a positive impact in our children, we must first challenge their thinking by empowering them to know themselves, love themselves, accept themselves, and know that a higher power lives within them. Once they begin to think differently, they will feel differently, and as they begin to feel differently, they will begin to act differently."
– E. Hill De Loney

de loney awardThe E. Hill De Loney Award is presented annually to an individual who exemplifies community leadership in Community–Based Public Health (CBPH) with a focus on youth development and preservation. The Award was established in 2008 by the CBPH Caucus of the American Public Health Association (APHA). The award celebrates Mrs. De Loney’s contributions to the development of youth leadership in CBPH.

*Pictured - Renee Bayer and Travis Howlette, 
2011 Recipients of E. Hill DeLoney Award

A tireless champion for our communities who pushes far beyond the average call of duty by instilling a sense of self and community as a starting point for a healthy existence, Mrs. De Loney is a highly esteemed matriarch of Community Based Participatory Research (CBPR) and its impact on communities across the country. She has devoted her life to the betterment of the children and their families. Her philosophy is “there is no distinction between my destiny and that of another African American.” Mrs. De Loney serves as the Director of the Flint Odyssey House, Inc., Health Awareness Center. She holds Masters Degrees in Guidance Counseling and Psychology. She uses that training to tailor her interest and activities using CBPR principles in adolescent health, father and sons’ relationships, infant mortality, and youth violence prevention. She is committed to growing and strengthening the communities’ ability to work effectively at creating and preserving a healthier environment.

Mrs. De Loney’s work utilizing CBPR contributed to the development of the Broome Team, the Community Based Organization Partners (CBOP), the Prevention Research Center (PRC) of Michigan, and ultimately the CBPH Caucus and the National Community–Based Organization Network (NCBON).

Past Winners

– Tricia Piechowski, Community Engagement Coordinator, Michigan Institute for Clinical & Health Research

– DeQuandra' Rankins, MariaJose Diaz, & Christopher Chavez on behalf of the CBPH Caucus Youth Council

– Wendy Alfsen, Executive Director, California Walks

– Korin Merle, Quinton Williams, Maya Saunders, Community-Based Public Health Youth Council Leaders
– Anthony Fleg, Coordinator, Native Health Initiative

– Travis Howlette, ORISE Research Fellow, Center for Disease Control and Prevention
– Renee Bayer, Associate Director, Kellogg Health Scholars Program

– The CBPH Caucus Youth Council

– Angela Reyes, Executive Director and Founder, Detroit Hispanic Development Corporation