The Lucille Webb Award

"My philosophy is not about aging, but about living well,Lucille Webbhaving an impact on the community and giving back"

The Lucille Webb award is presented annually to an individual who exemplifies community leadership in Community–Based Public Health. Lucille Webb is a community health advocate volunteer devoting countless hours to helping others, working on boards, commissions, and task forces, and networking with organizations to plan, implement, and monitor programs that impact health, family life, and education. She is a founding member and president of Strengthening the Black Family, Incorporated, a 501C(3) nonprofit community–based networking organization and chairman of the Executive Committee of Project DIRECT (Diabetes Interventions Reaching and Educating Communities Together), a CDC funded research demonstration project.

Mrs. Webb represented her community–based organization with the W.K.Kellogg Community–Based Public Health Initiative (CBPHI) and served as the first president of the North Carolina Consortium. Membership on the National Association of County and City Health Officials MAPP (Mobilizing for Action Through Planning and Partnerships) Work Group provided the opportunity to be a voice for the community’s health.

Mrs. Webb is a retired social studies teacher and personnel administrator of the Wake County North Carolina School System. She holds a master’s degree in education and is certified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction in Education Administration and Supervision.

The award is presented at the APHA Annual Meeting during the Community Reception hosted by NCBON. Funds are available to support the award recipient to attend the APHA Annual Meeting and to accept their award. 

Lucille Webb Award Winners

  • 2021 – Dr. JoyceA. Chapman, Chicago, IL
  • 2020 – Lucille Webb, Raleigh, NC
  • 2019 -  Tara Hayden, Philadelphia, PA
  • 2018 -  Melissa Green, Chapel Hill, NC
  • 2017 – Morehouse School of Medicine PRC, Atlanta, GA
  • 2016Loretta Jones, Los Angeles, CA
  • 2015Sherida V. Morrison, Chicago, IL
  • 2014 – Melvin Jackson, NC
  • 2013 – Kent Key – Flint, MI
  • 2012 – Al Richmond – Raleigh NC           
  • 2011 – D'Ann Morris, Los Angeles Urban League, Los Angeles, CA
  • 2010 – Loretta Jones, Healthy African American Families II, Los Angeles, CA
  • 2009 – Ella Greene–Moton, National Community–Based Organization Network
  • 2008 – E. Hill De Loney, Flint Odyssey House Health Awareness Center, Flint, MI
  • 2007 – Linda Randolph, Developing Families, Washington DC
  • 2006 – Elmer Freeman, Center for Community Health Education Research and Service (CCHERS), Boston, MA



Nomination forms for the Lucille Webb Award are available HERE, or by contacting Ella Greene-Moton, at or (202)-320-1123.


Award nominations and brief descriptions of why the nominee should be considered for the 2023 Lucille Webb Award must be received no later than November 1, 2023.


Nominations for the Lucille Webb Award should be sent to Ella Greene-Moton:
Scan & email to:
or mail to: Ella Greene-Moton
P. O. Box 816 Flint, MI 485