The Thomas Francis Jr. Medal sits on a wood desk.

U-M seeks nominations for prestigious global public health medal, names selection committee

The University of Michigan is seeking nominations for the Thomas Francis Jr. Medal in Global Public Health, one of the highest recognitions granted by the university. The medal, named after the renowned U-M physician, virologist and infectious disease researcher, recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to the advancement of global public health through major scientific discovery or through the development and leadership of effective public health policy or action.

Headshot of Marisa Eisenberg.

Marisa Eisenberg Receives University Award for Public Engagement in 2021

Marisa Eisenberg, associate professor of Epidemiology at the University of Michigan School of Public Health, is set to receive the University of Michigan President’s Award for National and State Leadership for her contributions to public health response during the COVID-19 pandemic in 2021.